New Jersey parents can sleep a little easier tonight knowing that one of their own won’t have to pay for their over-18-child-who-would-not-listen-yet sued-them-in-court-for-child-support youngster. The full story is here.
In California, both parents are responsible for the support of their minor children. Fam. Code § 3900. The duty to provide support “continues as to an unmarried child who has attained the age of 18 years, is a full-time high school student, and who is not self-supporting, until the time the child completes the 12th grade or attains the age of 19 years, whichever occurs first.” Fam. Code § 3901. However, if the child is incapacitated, support may extend beyond the child’s minority. Fam. Code § 3910.
Divorcing parents can include in their Marital Settlement Agreement a provision to provide for their children’s college expenses (i.e. division of costs and a list of what constitutes college expenses). If the parties cannot agree, the Court cannot order one parent to pay for college expenses pursuant to the code sections listed above.
If you have a question about child support or the payment of college expenses, please talk to an experienced family law attorney.